Education and Teaching Awards

We belong to a diverse community of teachers and scholars committed to advancing medical education. Help us to recognize excellence across the education continuum by nominating peers, colleagues, mentors and mentees who are making a difference.

Teaching and education awards are granted each year in recognition of individual teachers’ excellent contributions. Internal awards are granted at the Department, Academy, program, and Faculty levels, and prestigious external awards are offered by the University of Toronto and various provincial, national, and international agencies.

MD Program Awards

For details, see:


Medical Alumni Association Awards

The Medical Alumni Association (MAA) presents awards and prizes to both students and faculty members at the Convocation Banquet and throughout the year in recognition of clinical and academic excellence. Most MAA award decisions are made by the Undergraduate Awards Committee. For more information, please visit contact the MAA.


Internal  Awards

For information about Departmental, Academy, and Program awards, please visit each unit’s webpage.

Faculty-wide awards are granted in the following areas:

  • Undergraduate Medical Education
  • Undergraduate Teaching in the Life Sciences
  • Integrated Medical Education (Community Teaching Awards)
  • Graduate Education
  • Postgraduate Education
  • Continuing Education and Professional Development

For more information about internal awards, please visit:


To learn more about teaching awards at the Faculty of Medicine, please visit: or contact the Education and Teaching Awards Coordinator for the Faculty of Medicine at (416) 946–3921 or by e-mail at